In order for Thomas County employees and their families to observe the Holidays, all Thomas County offices are closed on the days shown below. 


January 1st, 2020  New Years Day
February 17th, 2020 Presidents Day 
May 25th, 2020 Memorial Day
July 3rd, 2020 Independence Day
September 7th, 2020 Labor Day
November 11th, 2020 Veterans Day
November 26th, 2020 Thanksgiving Day
November 27th, 2020 Day after Thanksgiving
December 24th, 2020 Christmas Eve
December 25th, 2020 Christmas Day
 December 31st, 2020 Treasures office closed to public at noon
January 1st, 2021 New Year's Day




January 1st, 2021  New Years Day
February 15th, 2021 Presidents Day 
May 31st, 2021 Memorial Day
July 5th, 2021 Independence Day
September 6th, 2021 Labor Day
November 11th, 2021 Veterans Day
November 25th, 2021 Thanksgiving Day
November 26th, 2021 Day after Thanksgiving
December 24th, 2021 Christmas Eve
December 25th, 2021 Christmas Day
 December 31st, 2021 Treasures office closed to public at noon
January 1st, 2022 New Year's Day


Thomas County Statistics



County Seat





1,075 sq mi




Congressional District

Your County Commissioners


Brad Flipse, Member - 1st District

  • Ward II (Colby), Gem City, Menlo City, Oakley City, Rexford City, Lacey Township, Menlo Township, East Morgan Township, North Randall Township, South Randall Township, Rovohl Township, Smith Township, and Wendell Township
  • Elected into office in November 2018
  • Took office in January 2019

Brad Flipse - County Commissioner

City Council

Francis Britton, Member  - 2nd District

  • Wards III & IV (Colby)
  • Elected into office in November 2016
  • Took office in January 2017

Francis Britton - County Commissioner



Michael Baughn, Chairman - 3rd District

  • Ward I (Colby), Brewster City, Barrett Township, East Hale Township, West Hale Township, Kingery Township, West Morgan Township, and Summers Township
  • Elected into office in November 2012
  • Took office in January 14, 2013 

Michael Baughn - County Commissioner

Thomas County, Kansas

"Thomas County - Agricultural, educational, cultural and service center of Northwest Kansas!  We invite you to become a part of our progressive community!"

Mike Baughn - County Commissioner 

Contact Us

 info (@)
 (785) 460-4500
 (785) 460-4503
 300 North Court, Colby, Kansas 67701

Keep in Touch